Danny Ramadan to know that a lot can change in a year.

In 2011, he lived in Damascus, to support the work of other queer Syrians, sometimes housing them in their own apartment. “Of course, that’s all underground and secretive,” Ramadan told VICE. (Being gay is illegal in Syria, and Ramadan would meet at least three years of imprisonment if he ever prosecuted in their home country). “I ended up arrested, and I had to leave the country to avoid remaining in prison.”

A year later, he found himself in Beirut from the hands of Syrian authorities, and to remove the growing civil war, but in front of a different set of struggles as suddenly displaced refugee. “I did not know I was going to go to Syria, I was not going to leave Syria,” he said. “No one plans for becoming a refugee, never.” READ FULL

