heavenIran: In a country where gay men risk execution for their sexual orientation, Googoosh, one of Iran’s most famous singers, is believed to be the first to feature a same-sex lesbian couple in her music video for ‘Behesht’ (Heaven), reports gaystarnews.com.

The video, which the singer posted to her Facebook page on Valentine’s Day, proclaims: ‘Freedom to Love for All!’

According to the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia in a post on Facebook, local activists have hailed it as a ‘very large step’ and a ‘first in the whole history of Iran.’

Lyrics in English (posted by the International Day Against Homophobia and Transphobia on Facebook) are as follows:

I afraid of this doubt astray, this deadlock

I afraid of the feeling that’s still between us

The end of this way is not clear, I know as you know

Do not tell me that we should cut off this love, you can’t as I can’t

We can’t come back and we can’t cross from this deadlock

I know that these feel shouldn’t have existed, but it exist…

I have been scaring of the dream that we both dreamt

I have been scaring of that we both turned opposite of KABA (the God Holy shrine for Muslims which is in Masjed Alharam at Makka that Moslim should turn around it for prays)…

For leaving this transition, there is no way to escape but the world

I don’t know but maybe the heaven is not fit for us

The end of this way is not clear, I know as you know

Do not tell me that we should cut off this love, you can’t as I can’t

We can’t come back and we can’t cross from this deadlock

I know that these feel shouldn’t have existed, but it exist…

In Iran, homosexuality is punishable by imprisonment, corporal punishment and  in some cases of ‘sodomy’ even execution. Gay men have faced stricter enforcement actions under the law than lesbians.

Although Iran insists that it does not execute people for homosexuality, homosexuals who have been executed have either committed rape, murder, or drug trafficking. However, any type of sexual activity outside a heterosexual marriage is forbidden.

Source: gaystarnews.com

